#27: Breakfast at Tiffany’s by Truman Capote (Katarina)

Having a good friend who is quite obsessed with the movie, I had already seen parts of Breakfast at Tiffany’s (1958) before I read it so I knew the plot line to some extent. What did surprise me though was that the character Holly Golightly is quite annoying and not a very nice person. At least not in my opinion. She is self-centered and blind to how her own behavior affects people around her.

What is interesting about the book though is at the end after she abandons her cat, simply called Cat, she finally realizes something and that is that she is likely to not know what she has before she has already thrown it away. And that is the lesson I learn from this book, because other than that, I wasn’t overly impressed with the story. Maybe because I didn’t find any character to root for or to really care for. The only thing that really affected me was the abandonment of the cat, which in my opinion was a hurtful thing to do to this poor animal. Thankfully, the cat at least got a happy ending and a loving home and he was the only one really worth it.

Leave a comment

Filed under 21-30, Fiction, Katarina

Leave a Reply

